Committees and Appointments

The Insurance Committee

State Representative John Frullo, Chairman

The Insurance Committee shall have nine members, with jurisdiction over all matters pertaining to:

  • Insurance and the insurance industry;
  • All insurance companies and other organizations of any type writing or issuing policies of insurance in the State of Texas, including their organization, incorporation, management, powers, and limitations; .
  • The following state agencies: the Texas Department of Insurance, the Texas Health Benefits Purchasing Cooperative, and the Office of Public Insurance Counsel.
  • Insurance Committee Web Site

The Culture, Recreation, & Tourism Committee

The Culture, Recreation & Tourism Committee shall have seven members, with jurisdiction over:

  • The creation, operation, and control of state parks, including the development, maintenance, and operation of state parks in connection with the sales and use tax imposed on sporting goods, but not including any matter within the jurisdiction of the Committee on Appropriations;
  • The regulation and control of the propagation and preservation of wildlife and fish in the state;
  • The development and regulation of the fish and oyster industries of the state;
  • Hunting and fishing in the state, and the regulation and control thereof, including the imposition of fees, fines, and penalties relating to that regulation;
  • The regulation of other recreational activities;
  • Cultural resources and their promotion, development, and regulation;
  • Historical resources and their promotion, development, and regulation;
  • Promotion and development of Texas’ image and heritage;
  • Preservation and protection of Texas’ shrines, monuments, and memorials;
  • International and interstate tourist promotion and development;
  • The Texas Economic Development and Tourism Office as it relates to the subject-matter jurisdiction of this committee;
  • The Gulf States Marine Fisheries Compact; and
  • The following state agencies: the Parks and Wildlife Department, the Texas Commission on the Arts, the State Cemetery Committee, the Texas State Library and Archives Commission, the Texas Historical Commission, the State Preservation Board, the San Jacinto Historical Advisory Board, and an office of state government to the extent the office promotes the Texas music industry.
  • Culture, Recreation, & Tourism Committee Web Site